The Post

March 25, 2008 at 5:54 pm 3 comments

I figure Tuesday would be a good day to post  news items.  I generally wake up on Tuesdays about half an hour before my class (today it was fifteen minutes before class! Never give up, kids), shower, skip breakfast and head out the door.  I pick up a new copy of the paper from the middle of the pile, and spend the next 1.5 hours in my rhetoric class trying to look like I’m paying attention when I’m really just surfing DrudgeReport and Tyler Durden.

I should probably stop going to Durden during class time, because of all the NSFW things.  You know, fun things.  That stuff that used to bring me joy.

Anyway, two interesting tidbits from the news, the first of which is really sad and kind of getting me down today.

1) Neil Aspinall died at 66 from lung cancer.  Aspinall, for the past 30 years or so, was the head of Apple Corp., the company that owns and controls the majority of the Beatles’ catalogue, merchandizing, etc.  If he were just some corporate shlub than I wouldn’t be losing any sleep over it (papers would be costing me sleep instead – fuck you, Brock).  But Aspinall was probably the only person who could have legitimately been called “the Fifth Beatle” besides their longtime producer George Martin.  Aspinall was friend with McCartney and Harrison from the time they were all in school, he managed them on the road after Epstein, and was in pretty much every interview having to do with the legacy of The Beatles ever.  And that is a lot of interviews.

All this makes me reflect on the day that I know must come eventually: I’ll wake up, probably some day in the middle of the week, and hear that Paul McCartney has died.  Then it’ll be Ringo (because he has to outlive them all).  Then….then it’ll be Bob Dylan.  God, this shit is depressing.  Except for the day that the Dixie Chicks die in a bus crash, because fuck the Dixie Chicks.

2) Just an article I thought was interesting on how Clinton may still be able to beat ObamaMarc and I were talking about this yesterday.  I don’t really think she has a feasible chance of winning at this point, and I don’t say that because I’m an Obama supporter or something (I’m not particularly, I just think he’d be leagues better than Clinton).  In short, she has to put Pennsylvania in a choke-hold and somehow rob Indiana from Obama, which likely won’t happen since they’re pretty much tied.  Obama has had far more media coverage of late anyway because of his recent race speech, which did two things:

1) it inspired even greater loyalty in those who were on the fence about his candidacy, secured a few more Hispanic votes, and effectively put to rest the Jeremiah Wright issue for the press, and

2) it didn’t hurt him for those who didn’t watch it.  It was a rousing speech, but still a safe one.

Clinton really should just bow out if she wants the party to be effective against McCain.  I don’t think she would send McCain shuffling back to the senior’s home like she thinks she would, but she won’t bow out because she’s a Clinton and the Clintons would barbecue small children if they thought if would win them 15 more minutes in power.  McCain is ahead of BOTH of them in the polls, and that won’t slow down until at least June or July.

Whatever.  I don’t want the Democrats in the White House but I’m DYING of curiosity to see what an Obama presidency would be like.  I’m not crazy on McCain, but I don’t loathe him either.

Really, I just wish the Liberals would force a Canadian election already and take a massive shit-beating from Harper.  The man has fists like Virginia hams – Dion looks like a biter.  Fuck Dion, too.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

Cracker ass Cracker Mnemonicide

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Joe  |  March 26, 2008 at 12:34 pm

    I didn’t realize there was another conservative in our midst.

    I thought I was the only one :(

    Reply
  • 2. stevewoodhead  |  March 26, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Shhh, shhhh. I’m still in the closet about it.

    Reply
  • 3. Joe  |  March 27, 2008 at 3:53 pm

    Haven’t you seen the Conservative pamphlets? You should come out as a Conservative because your parents will think you’re retarded, your roommate will hate you and your teacher will be stunned! ADVERTISEMENTS DON’T LIE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

March 2008
M T W T F S S
    Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

