ReDesign

April 9, 2008 at 4:16 pm 4 comments

Sean is in the middle of redesigning his MySpace right now using a few homemade graphics and an online editor.  I think it’ll look pretty sweet when it’s done – his original “tiled” looking wasn’t really working for me.  Because I’m an arrogant prick, I secretly consider my opinion of things to be of paramount importance to everyone around me.  This is why I write a blog.

Sean’s ReDesign also prompted that old unsettling feeling that my own blog, this blog, looks like dogshit.  I really hate the template but I don’t know how to do fancy stuff with code and HTML and things.  the last one looked a little cooler, but the text was way too small and I figured if someone were actually really interested in what I was writing, they’d have a tough time getting all the way through it because the writing was PUNY.

I’m too afraid to ask Marc to whip something graphic-ey together for me that I can use as a decent banner at the top of the blog.  So I post it here as a roundabout way of asking.  I’m a pussy, so sue me.

The past two evenings have been some of the best all year, by the way.  Monday was our final Press day and a few of us were able to go out for drinks afterwards.  Cait noticed that I started to work myself into a lather once the conversation got around to our favourite music – which tends to happen if I’m talking to the right people.  Apparently I was. 

It was a sad day leaving the office.  A few people asked if, since I’m leaving next year, it was a sad evening.  It was, kind of, but last night was worse for being that much better.  Monday evening was surreal; Tuesday (last night at the Buzies) felt like a CLOSURE.  I stumbled back to Cait’s apartment in a fair state, and started bemoaning how awful it’s going to be to leave everybody.  I’m not ashamed to say I’ll likely be one of those people who comes back to “drop by” the office to see everyone on the summer production days.

I suppose what I’m trying to say (in yet another roundabout way) is that The Press has, in more ways than one, made this probably the best year I’ve ever had with any school, and that’s considering that I hated about 90% of my classes and spent the better part of the school year in a near-constant anxiety attack stemming from not doing my readings, my workload, and trying to get into school for next year.

Mike gave me an award last night for what I’ve done with the Press over the year.  It’s a small thing but I got a little misty when he gave it to me, because (holy shit, here comes the mush) this job has given me far, FAR more than I’ve been able to give to it.  I’ll miss it like hell, everybody on staff and those who surround it, and from the bottom of my heart, it has been an absolute privilege to have this opportunity.

So there.  I love all you people.  Cram that in your pipe and smoke it (it probably tastes like strawberry kittens).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Dogs are better than cats, and don’t argue with me Such handsome boys… *updated*

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Marc  |  April 9, 2008 at 11:37 pm

    Mr. Woodhead, you’re a gentleman, a scholar and were a damn fine News Editor, you totally earned that award. In other news you will be missed in the office if only for that wonderful beard.

    Reply
  • 2. Marc  |  April 9, 2008 at 11:38 pm

    oh and if you want a nice graphic for your banner, I need the size of that banner in pixels.

    Reply
  • 3. travis  |  April 10, 2008 at 6:34 am

    This new design, my sir, makes me warm and tingly.

    Reply
  • 4. katie  |  April 10, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Every time I read a blog post of yours or a comment on our blog and there is someone in the room I say “every day I like Steve more and every day it makes me sadder that he is moving”

    …which is usually followed by a “OK, I GET IT, HE’S AWESOME AND FUNNY AND CUTE”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

April 2008
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

