Just See How Far It Will Bend

June 27, 2008 at 11:13 pm 4 comments

I don’t know what happened there – that was, like, only the second major lapse I’ve had in posting this summer. Marc was right to admonish me for my laziness. Part of it is probably the fact that there is precious little happening.

Actually, that’s a lie. I made a major purchase on Tuesday, one of these suckers.  Cost me a thousand dollars after a memory card and the warranty, but now it’s here and it’s all for Homer.  It’s a helluva lot of fun, although, since I sit on my ass a lot of nights, it gets a bit tiresome trying to find things nearby that are interesting enough for me to shoot.  You can only shoot the inside of the refrigerator so many times.  Oh, and I’m practicing as much as I can with the manual focus, trying to get better with it (but the kit lens comes with that little focusing ring on the end, which feels a bit chintzy. Still, it’s good enough for my purposes).

I’d be lying if I said that I hadn’t taken one or two naked pictures.  Good thing it’s a wide-angle lens!  Rimshot!

Oh my god…”rimshot” makes that joke sound even worse.  You guys know what I mean, right?  The ol’ Ba-dum-bum-PSSH! gag.

Maybe it’s a good thing that I left the blog alone for a while.

SPEAKING of blogs, and I think we are, my chances of writing for a politics and current events blog are finally getting a little stronger after months of wondering and waiting.  I’ll let you all know when it’s happening, but whatever “it” is, it’ll be taking place at www.filibustersoup.com (which doesn’t exist yet, so don’t get all clickey on me there, tiger).

I’m resisting the urge, mightily I might add, to start linking all over the place to the things I’ve been reading and watching lately.  I need to cut that out.  You’ll just have to make-do with old videos of skateboarder nutshots and dancing not-the-fathers.

To everyone who is still stopping by to read once in a while, I miss you.  And I take some solace in the fact that we’re all waiting with bated breath, collectively, for the release of The Dark Knight.  It’s like that scene from Beethoven II, where Beethoven is watching the moon from his cottage, and his dog girlfriend is watching it from her city perch, and they feel connected because, you know, it’s like they’re doing it together.  It’s kinda like that, you know?  Everything I know about romance I learned from the Beethoven movies.  Which is why Caitlin’s cheeks are frequently wet from slobbery kisses after we’ve…you know…

Rimshot!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Man, reality bites Weekend

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. travis  |  June 28, 2008 at 12:38 am

    I haven’t used my camera to take any photos because the size and clarity of the photos can sometimes be astonishing. A webcam is one thing, but macro shots of your ballsack are entirely another.

    Reply
  • 2. Julie  |  June 28, 2008 at 8:20 pm

    I miss you too.
    you have got to take it easy on the rimshots though…. seriously.

    Reply
  • 3. cait  |  June 30, 2008 at 2:04 am

    I love that scene from Beethoven II. The mean lady in that movie is such a bitch.

    Reply
  • 4. G  |  July 3, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Nice SLR brother. I picked up a new digital camera this summer as well. PowerShot SD700 IS Digital ELPH, it’s a point and click but it has a lot of fancy features. Canon is the way to go when you want a camera. Cheers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

June 2008
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

