Your kids are gonna love it

July 18, 2008 at 1:45 am 3 comments

Since I haven’t posted in a while, and I’m going away for the weekend to the great Canadian hinterlands where the Internet is still years away, I’m doing a quick post accompanied by one of my top five Most-Frequently-Watched YouTube videos…

Some quick facts about Back to the Future that you may, or may not, have known:

  • Released in 1985, the year before I was born.
  • The primary writer, Bob Gale, drew inspiration from his father’s high school yearbook – he wondered if he would have been friends with his father if they were the same age.
  • Shot largely at night, since Fox was filming Family Ties during the day.
  • The time machine was originally scripted to run on Coca-Cola
  • It’s pronounced jig-oh-watt (but c’mon, you probably already knew that).
  • The recording credit for the song in the video above went to the fictional characters on the album’s soundtrack (and that scene was to culminate in a riot that needed to be broken up by the cops)
  • Somebody check IMDB on this for me, but I’m pretty sure that Crispin Glover is younger than Michael J. Fox. Weird.
  • I would have totally done Marty McFly’s mom.

I also have a review for Wall-E, which I saw over a week ago now, on the burner. Really, this is all just a way of killing time until the release of this little art-house flick that I’ve been kind of curious about. I think it’s called The Dark Knight. Maybe you’ve heard of it? It’ll probably be limited release or something. It’s good to see that people are finally noticing this obscure little movies.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Technically… The Dark Knight

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. cait  |  July 18, 2008 at 3:29 am

    how much do I love marty mcfly?
    let me count the ways…

    Reply
  • 2. travis  |  July 18, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Crispin Glover, April 20, 1964.
    Michael J. Fox, June 9, 1961.

    Reply
  • 3. Marc  |  July 18, 2008 at 7:20 am

    Just saw Dark Knight, mind far to blown to comment properly. Prepare yourself mentally and physically before proceeding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

