Just the ‘Fax

August 15, 2008 at 12:08 am 1 comment

I have been waiting to use that blog title for, like, a week.

So I arrived in Halifax yesterday, on the 9:00 am flight out of Toronto.  Stayed overnight at my uncle Ron’s place, with Dad in tow.  We had 4 suitcases between the two of us, mostly full of my clothes.  We schlepped around the house, got drunk, and went to bed fairly early-ish (luckily, thanks to the indomitable magic of Skype, I did not fall asleep until close to midnight.  That’s midnight my time.  Oh yeah, I’m one hour ahead of you guys now.  I’m living in the FUTURE!).

So here I am in Halifax for the next 8 weeks (then Thanksgiving), then another four weeks (then hopefully an internship in Toronto until New Years), then another 6 weeks or so (then Reading Week), and then Easter and then graduation and whatnot.  When you break it down like that, it’s not a long time at all.  But you can all sit back in your comfy recliners and laugh at me, because I have to start class on fucking Monday.  Whatever.  It’s better than being back at work.  I liked work, don’t get me wrong, but it doesn’t kill time the way being in school does.

I had pictures of my room to upload for you guys to gawk at, but the resolution on them is so huge that it takes forever to bloody well put up.  And Flickr takes a bitch of a long time too, so I’m not rushing to get one of those accounts anytime soon.

For now, let me put it this way: the rooms are kind of like the rooms you would have seen in DeCew, only without the horribly cramped hallways and stuff (unfortunately, they also lack the sweet balconies).  Each room is maybe 7×19 feet, and comes furnished with a mini-fridge, bookshelf, two chairs (one for visitors!) a desk, a nightstand, a bureau, a bed, and closet.  Desk lamps and all that junk too.

What’s sweet is that there are only 12 people living on the floor, all of them in the same program as I.  Which means I’ve got instant friends: just add water.  About half the floor has moved in so far, and they seem like cool people.

Given a choice, I’d rather have the entire Brock Press staff here with me, but whaddya gonna do.  Fly out here, fuckers.  To hell with Saskatoon.

By the way, I’ll be sending out my new cell/room number to all of my regular blog fellows.  I had to switch from Solo Mobile to Rogers before I came out here (long, totally cockbagging story) and since their technology is incompatible my old phone had to go in the trash.  Which means I lost a huge list of my contacts, and Ballsey’s photos of his Helicopter Game hi-scores, the jerk.

If you’ve not been to Halifax, I think you should try it (this is the Royal “You”).  Everybody is very fit here, especially the old people.  Everyone looks like they might live to be one hundred.  Or, the alternative, they look like the average Joe Schmoe on the street (I was in a WalMart).  And there are bars and eateries and coffee shops and regular shops EVERYWHERE.  It’s the best parts of Toronto just sized way, way down.  But the concert availability is lame, and there are no skyscrapers.  Take that for what you will.  It’s a nice city anyway, so far.  Who knows how I’ll feel about it in a few weeks.  The streets are super narrow.  Can’t decide if that’s good or bad.

(Nevermind, I decided to put a little more effort into the photo since I haven’t blogged in so long.  Here’s a couple shots of my room, from opposite ends.)

So that’s my crib, MTV.  Holla.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

The reason, my friend… W.T.F.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Kat  |  August 17, 2008 at 6:44 am

    Where are the pictures of your 18 car garage?
    That’s the best part of Cribs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

August 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

