GoogleBlog and the Mobile Phone

September 20, 2008 at 1:35 pm 3 comments

I just found Google’s official Blog, launched, I guess, on their tenth anniversary.  It’s pretty astounding that they’ve been here for ten years now.

They made a post yesterday about the current state, and future, of mobile phones.  Some of the stats they bust out are interesting:

There are currently about 3.2 billion mobile subscribers in the world, and that number is expected to grow by at least a billion in the next few years. Today, mobile phones are more prevalent than cars (about 800 million registered vehicles in the world) and credit cards (only 1.4 billion of those). While it took 100 years for landline phones to spread to more than 80% of the countries in the world, their wireless descendants did it in 16…

Does it seem strange to anyone else that there are less than a billion registered vehicles in the world?  I guess you can kind of figure that there would, realistically, be more cell phones then there are cars, but still.  I thought registered cars would have topped at least a billion.

Speaking of billions, did you also know that Mark Zuckerberg, the humble inventor of everyone’s favourite social networking website, was recently listed by Forbes as being worth 1.5 billion (US)?

He’s 24 years old.

Fuck my horrible life.

And why would Google go to BlogSpot as a host for their own blog?  That’s awfully proletariat of them.  I thought they would have gone with something a little more hip.  I’m partial to WordPress, just because I find the orange that Blogger.com uses kind of hideous.

Also, if I ever form a band, I’ve just decided I’m going to name it Mobile Pwn.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

You say you want a revolutioooonn Ask me again (and again and again)

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ryan  |  September 20, 2008 at 2:55 pm

    Google owns Blogger.

    Reply
  • 2. stevewoodhead  |  September 20, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Thank you for pointing that out. This, I did not know.

    And the more you know…

    Reply
  • 3. travis  |  September 20, 2008 at 7:31 pm

    It’s always a safe assumption to assume that Google owns something, regardless of what it is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

