Facebook is still good for a laugh

October 24, 2008 at 7:54 pm Leave a comment

It never does fail to amaze me how, just when I’ve lost all hope in the possibility of anybody having an original thought ever again, an intrepid group of go-getters will swoop in to save the day and restore my faith in humanity.

You guys know those Facebook groups that position themselves as a challenge to the global facebook community, right?  Those groups that proclaim “If 5000 people join this group, I’ll do something completely irrational/injurous to my person/illegal”.  I love those groups.  They’re demonstrate the sophistication and complex inner workings of the human mind.

And they’re way more fun than they’re sad-sack siblings, the “If 5000 people join this group I’ll shave off every hair on my body to donate to some worthy cause”-type group.  Laaaaaame.  Give me someone that will offer to go bareknuckle boxing with Joe Rogan after a bender.  I’m down.

I did a search, and found some of my favourites.  I’ll post them here for your perusal.

If 100,000 people join this group, I will contract HIV (Have a sense of humour.  That is FUNNY)

If 150,000 people join this group, I will name my son Batman (Extra points earned for the sweet group pic.  I think the “Spiderman” version had this guy beat, though.)

If this group reaches 4,294,967,296 it might cause an integer overflow (I don’t know what it means, but it sounds cool and kind of dangerous.  I also really like the “might”.  I don’t know WHAT they stand for!)

If this group reaches 10000 we’ll proof that George Bush is an ASS HOLE (Hmmm.  10,000 of you?  That’ll certainly proof him.)

If 100,000 people join this group: i will tackle Phil Mickleson at Masters (Because I’d like to see that).

If this group reaches 100,000, my boyfriend will quit World of Warcraft (No, he won’t)

If this facebook group reaches 9001 members, Vegeta will crush his scouter (Oh man, do you remember that one?!  The most badass thing I had ever seen in my first 15 years of life)

IF 100,500 PEOPLE JOIN THIS FACEBOOK GROUP I WILL TOTAL MY DADS FERRARI!!! (Your father probably wishes he’d pulled out).

Runner-up

If I get 350,000 people to join this group, I will slam my dick in a door

    • Honestly, when I saw this group nearly a year ago (or one of the imitators), I almost fell off my chair.  The sheer ballsey-ness, the utter fuck-you-world attitude of it won me over.  Nice job, guys.

Number One

If this group reaches 5,000 people I will eat a pinecone

  • Because I can’t think of a single rational explanation for doing so, and it made me laugh.  But it almost wasn’t enough to beat the Dick-in-a-Door, it needed a little something extra.  Here was the cherry on top: the guys, true to their word, made a video of them going into the woods to find a pinecone to eat.  And it’s actually hilarious in its own right.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

It’s a rare condition The Union STOCK-yaaarrrrd

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

October 2008
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

