Lists, lists: Top Video Games

February 4, 2009 at 1:46 pm 2 comments

Sigh

Sigh

Were I a hardcore gaming nerd (and had I the money, trust me, I would be) I could make my own list of Best Games Ever instead of constantly linking out to other peoples’.

That being said, the folks at GamesRadar.com (via GorillaMask) have created what the definitive Definitive List.  That is, THIS is what a Tops list should look like.

They’ve taken nearly every game console that’s ever existed and listed #1 game for each, with a runner-up.  It’s easier to read than some damn Top 150 list and allows for easier navigation.

I will say this: my gaming career started and stopped with N64 and I will love that system until the day I die.  I whole-heartedly commend their Numbers 1 and 2 for the system, but yes, my world DID nearly collapse when I saw what they left out.

By the way, if any fanatic gaming friends of mine read the list and heartily agree or disagree with GamesRadar’s choices, write something in the comments section. I’d be really interested in your opinion on the matter.  Personally I never spent much time with Super Smash Bros. Melee for GameCube, but I always kind of found it to be a little too spastic for proper play – that perpetually seasick camera movement really killed it.

P.S.  Dear Paul:  I didn’t like Antony and the Johnsons so much when you first recommended them (him?).  Too much trilling and warbling for my taste.  Normally my enjoyment of anything operatic is limited to Queen and not much else.  But I just re-listened to “Aeon” and now I’m a fan.  Shame on me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Formula for a good day Slate.com hates my long-distance relationship

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dr Ryan Heise  |  February 4, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    How can I not comment, especially since I just finished Gears 2 and am about to ruin my life by playing Fallout 3.

    Yes, I am a “gamer.” A filthy word used to label people who enjoy very engaging entertainment.

    First, Games Radar is a shit site. This isn’t an exclusive opinion; it’s well known that the site has some serious editorial and quality issues. There’s actually a long history about the site, but I won’t go into that here.

    My thoughts (on fucking everything!):
    NES: Agree. SMB3 is probably my favourite game, and MM2 is retardedly difficult.

    SNES: Admittedly, I was more into the Genesis. We had a SNES, but the Sega system got way more gameplay. Link to the Past was great. I played it in the summer before moving to Halifax. I really liked Super Mario World. Also, Chrono Trigger?!

    N64: Agree with you. Excluding Ocarina makes me think they have no idea what they’re doing. M64 was a huge revolution, but it wasn’t a great game. Golden Eye is a classic and was the first accessible FPS on a console. I’ll give it that.

    GC: Pikmin. That’s it.

    Wii: Super Mario Galaxy made me not give up on gaming. It is perhaps one of the purest video games ever made. Fuck off Wii Sports. I really liked Twilight Princess.

    PSX: Boooo! These should be switched. MGS is my favourite game of all time. It made me realize that games could be a lot more than glorified toys. It has an amazing story. The best of the the MGS series. FFXII was good, but I’m just not huge on RPGs. I enjoyed the game though.

    PS2: The PS2 library is far too huge for me to say anything. I liked San Andreas, and Okami was beautiful, but I’m quite partial to Ico.

    PS3: I’m not really qualified to say much about this, but I did think LBP was overrated. Fun for a bit, but then it just kind of petered out. I have no interest in making my own levels. I buy a game to play it, not work.

    Xbox: Halo2?! Look, another “defining” game, and one I played a shit load of, but come on. Crimson Skies: High Road to Revenge is probably the best game from the Xbox. KotOR sucks, IMO. I get why people love it, but it sucks.

    Xbox360: Gears? Buh. Gears 2 is better. Gears 1 had a lot of problems, especially with the cover mechanic. Let me list better games: Fallout 3, BioShock (even though I didn’t like it), Halo 3, Burnout 3, Call of Duty 4 …

    Master System: The only game I remember from this is the original Golden Axe.

    Genesis: NHL 94, with 97 a close second. Virtua Racing was awesome, too. I liked Sonic 3 more than 2.

    Sega CD: No comment

    Saturn: My friend had a Saturn. I was so jealous. How foolish was I. Panzer Dragoon, Nights, and Virtua Fighter 2 were my tops.

    DC: Ask anyone who ever owned one, and they will tell you how awesome it is. Big fan of PowerStone and Crazy Taxi. The latter was the first legitimate psuedo open-world game. Driver on the PSX doesn’t count.

    Skipping to handhelds:
    GB: Tetris, Legend of Zelda: Link’s Awakening.

    Virtual Boy: Uggghhhh …. so many headaches.

    GBA: I don’t know if I’ve ever actually played a GBA game.

    DS: Oh man, what an amazing system. Phantom Hourglass is awesome, as is New Super Mario Bros. But what about Professor Layton and the Curious Village? Mario Kart DS (best MK game ever)?

    Uh, never played much of these jobber handhelds. I knew someone with a Game Gear, but it took 8 AA batteries, and he almost never had it working.

    That’s it from me. Sorry for the long comment. I’m actually working on a game-related post for my blag. I should really find the time to finish it. But Fallout 3 …

    Reply
  • 2. Paul  |  February 5, 2009 at 12:48 am

    *pelvic thrusts into open air*

    Yes. Antony. Yes.

    Also, Melee is a well-deserved win for the Cube, though Animal Crossing deserves a mention.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

February 2009
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
232425262728  

