Hmm…

March 4, 2009 at 7:38 pm 1 comment

Cease to Begin

 

I’m having one of those moments where, just by listening to a CD you haven’t heard in a while, you can be taken instantly back to the first month or so that you had it in your possession.

It’s killing me that I can’t remember exactly when I bought the Bands of Horses Cease to Begin album.  It feels like it should have been early in fourth year, but it could have even been that summer prior (I remember sending the link for “The Great Salt Lake”, from their first album, to Cait that summer and rhapsodizing about it).

Anyway, the song that’s bringing me back is “Ode to LRC“.  And then the album keeps going, into “No One’s Gonna Love You” and “Detlef Schrempf”.  It’s funny; just the sound is enough to make me recall these strong feelings of…what is it?  It’s kind of beyond language.  Moroseness, maybe.  Longing almost certainly.

And just now, “The General Specific” fires up and breaks that mood.  Because I put this song on a mix CD for Cait a few months ago, so now that’s how the song is hardwired most prominently in my memory.  Ironically (is it irony?), I had written in the CD’s liner notes that I particularly liked this song because it wasn’t linked to ANYTHING in my memory.  It was kind of island, floating serenely up there amid all the jumbled garbage.  Now it’s not anymore.  That’s ok though.

I know nostalgia is the most dangerous emotion, but I miss St. Catharines dammit.  I swore up and down that I wouldn’t be one of those people who ached for the good old days, and God knows I didn’t have a particularly strong affection for Brock University when I was there. 

Marry Song“.  It’s a good one too.  Sheesh, these songs can put me anywhere they like.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

25 things I’ve learned over the past two weeks I need a job

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. daughterofben  |  March 21, 2009 at 10:36 pm

    Irony is when you write/say one thing literally, but intend a different, somewhat contradictory meaning. Not to be confused with sarcasm, which is like irony in the body of a personal guard dog (maiming your enemies).

    In short, irony it is.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

