It’s not you. It’s me.

March 15, 2009 at 10:03 pm 4 comments

I am so ready to go home, it’s not even worth talking about anymore.  I like Halifax, I really do.  And I’ve made some excellent friends here, with whom I hope I’ll keep in contact.  The program has been good, even if I’ve had my fill of it by now.

I just want to go HOME.  And by home, I don’t even mean Aurora (exactly).  I just want to be in Ontario.  Does anybody remember me saying, during the Summer of ’08, that I was eager to “get out of this province”?  Well, I’ve had my fill.  People out here give you a weird look when you tell them that you actually miss Ontario.  Usually an eyebrow is raised.  More often than not, expect a “But why? It’s so easy-going and relaxed here! The people are so much nicer! Ontario sucks!”

One:  Ontario, for all its evils, is still pretty sweet.  Ottawa is a great city, and Toronto has its charms. We have two hockey teams, and a cheap baseball game. Theatres have late showtimes.  There’s energy in the streets.  We get the best movies first and there’s more journalism/media work.  Our concerts are better.

Two:  Yes, I know.  People on the east coast are, invariably, nicer and more approachable than Ontarians.  But I have nice, approachable friends.  And I’m not very good at making conversation with strangers, so the whole “friendly Easterner” thing is wasted on me.

Three:  I hate admitting this to myself, but the different-pace-of-life atmosphere that the east coast has is absolutely true, and not really for me.  I like feeling a bit of buzz.  There’s not much buzz to be had out here.  It feels isolated from the rest of the country (I can’t imagine what Newfoundland or PEI is like).  Even worse, I feel isolated from the city.  It’s tough to go out there and not feel like a stranger.  I could come to love it after another year or so, but I don’t see the point.

It’s great for some, not for me.  I can see everything that there is to enjoy about Nova Scotia, and I’ve enjoyed a lot of it, but I want Ontario.  Should you visit here?  Absolutely.  Come for a month.  Want longer?  Come for a year — you’ll love it.

The bars are great, the people are nice, the city is walkable, you’re near the ocean, there’s myriad streams and forests and untouched greenery, the housing is gorgeous, there’s a vibrant arts scene and it’s the quintessential university town.  It’s just not for me.

Sorry, Halifax.  I think we need a break.  I have this other love, one that I didn’t tell you about up front.  She’s a few thousand kilometres away.  I don’t know if you’d get along, exactly, but she’s nice and fits me just right.

 

 

 

….P.S.  I still harbour dreams of moving to Alberta.  ‘Twill be my next torrid affair.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Online Journalism AWOL

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. travis  |  March 16, 2009 at 2:52 am

    I guess it’s good for Ontario that one of us feels this way.

    Reply
  • 2. youngromantic  |  March 18, 2009 at 9:48 am

    I too harbour dreams of moving to Alberta. Maybe we can be neighbours and Cait and I can get together every day to watch British movies and TLC!

    Reply
  • 3. cait  |  March 19, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    perfeeeeection!
    I’ll ride a horse over to your house (cause they have those in Alberta) and we shall spend the day moving slowly and making hilaaaaarious references.

    Reply
  • 4. Jeremy  |  March 31, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    I do believe they call it Upper Canada around your current parts and, as far as I can tell, they don’t mean it in a good way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

