“Blogging the summer” returns. Sigh.

April 29, 2009 at 4:33 pm 2 comments

Before I get into what I’ve been doing, I’m offering the usual hilarious Internet link for those readers that aren’t interested in what’s happening in my life (which, I realize, is probably all three of you).

With that in mind, LOOK AT THIS!  It’s a collection of photos of people wearing dog-hair clothing.  Literally, they take their dog’s fur and make sweaters out of it (via cracked.com).

Sometimes I just love people so much.  More about me after the break.

Oh good, you’re still here.

By way of bringing everyone up to speed, I finished at King’s and now I’m back in Aurora.  I spent a fantastic week and a half in St. Catharines with Cait and Ceyla, doing all the little things that make that city so magical.  Things like:

  • Setting two new Time Trial Records in Mario Kart: DoubleDash and beating a bunch of solo missions in Super Smash Brothers: Melee
  • Eating and drinking at Merchant Ale House
  • Ordering pizza
  • Visiting wineries
  • Drinking sangria on the roof
  • Sleeping in
  • Watching movies in the afternoon
  • Casting a live-action version of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast
  • And so on.

Pretty much the perfect summer squeezed into a week’s time.  How, you ask, does somebody possibly follow up such a week of gluttonous splendor?

I have no idea, I reply.  I have had very little else to do.  I can feel callouses forming on my ass from all the sitting.

Well, that’s not entirely true.  I went to a BBQ and later had a good chat over coffee with Sean.  I also helped Cait move out of the St. Catharines apartment and drove one of these suckers back and forth along the highways, which was hair-raising but fun.

Since then, it’s been a lot of waiting.  Waiting, namely, for the road trip that Cait and I have planned.  We are getting closer to being ready.  Except for the obvious exception of having a car.  I’ve been reassured by Cait’s confidence that we will have one in time, so in the meantime I’ve been assigned the task of making our itinerary for the trip.

Without providing too many gory details, we’ll be spending a lot of time in Arizona (Flagstaff, Sedona and the Grand Canyon National Park) and Washington DC.  The trip is going to be capped with time spent in California, both in the city and travelling along the highway up the coast to the border.  If you’re dying for more information, I can tell you that I hope to keep a blog updated with our travels once we have a set departure date.  Some of our camping sites will have Internet access.

I’m telling you now, though – there is a very real chance I will not be able to keep up the blog while on the road.  If it dies an inglorious death suddenly, don’t assume we’ve been kidnapped somewhere in Colorado.  Not right away, anyway.

Coupled with the waiting is the tediousness of watching everyone else I know go to work and earn a paycheck.  I’m not terribly eager to spend the next year or so locked behind a desk, but I like working.  I enjoy having something to do every day, and I enjoy the freedom of having money to spend.  I’m worried about finding work once I get back, like everyone else from Kings is, but I’m trying not to think about it.

My consolation is this:   There’s little I can do to help that right now.  I applied for a job in Ottawa, for which I was offered an interview time.  That means I’m employable.  But the bad news is that they wanted the interview to be the next day, and for the job to start the following week.  I’m ill-equipped to be leaving the province again for an indefinite term, though I did offer to do the interview over the phone so I could at least ask a few questions (they didn’t return my call).

My parents are being surprisingly supportive of the road trip, which I appreciate probably more than I can tell them. My dad even went so far as to offer to go to the CAA and pick up some maps/TripTychs for us. It’s something I want to do, and I’ll not likely have another chance to do it anytime soon.  So we’re going, barring any unforseen disasters.  It’s going to be fantastic.

That’s all I got for now.  I’ll be posting more regularly as the days go by.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Do it with your eyes closed Quick Update. Quipdate.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. arabellasworld  |  April 30, 2009 at 10:31 am

    Steve! I am so excited for you and Cait! Make sure you take lots of pics, and lemme see the ones where you have clothes on :)

    P.S. I have joined the wordpress blog club
    http://arabellasworld.wordpress.com

    Melissa

    Reply
  • 2. travis  |  May 7, 2009 at 3:54 am

    “and travelling along the highway up the coast to the border”

    Does this mean you’ll be travelling up the Pacific into British Columbia?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

