Quick Update. Quipdate.

May 10, 2009 at 12:14 pm 1 comment

The job hunt is, as yet, fruitless.  However, I’m feeling good about the rhythm I’m developing as I hone my resume writing skills back to their formerly keen edge.  It’s a recession – that’s at least SOMETHING to feel good about.  Resume rhythms.  Sigh.

In the meantime, I’m vastly envious of G-Seth’s maginificent blogging capacity and the wealth of entertaining stuff he manages to post.  I’m especially cheered by his post on baby naming (in honor of our dear Kari and Josh).  

The Baby Names Blog, by the way, only confirms what I’ve long held to be sound advice: Biblical names will never, ever, fall out of style.  Strong, tough names.  Daniel has been a favorite of mine for a long time and lookee here!  It’s made the top five.  I also like the name Colin, and recently Kelly, so maybe I’m just predisposed to Irish-sounding names.

(But why is Hannah falling?  That’s another one that I really like.)

If you think it’s at all strange that I think about this, I’m going to defend myself by saying that anybody who reads fiction probably has an inclination towards thinking about names in general.  It’s fun.  Flipping through a phonebook becomes interesting before long.

Actually, it’s Mother’s Day for crying out loud.  I don’t need to defend the Baby Names thing today.  Rise up and be proud, Mama’s Boys of the world.

**Update || 4:50 p.m. **

Me: “Mom! why are you vacuuming?!  We have to be at Grandma’s in ten minutes!”

Mom (in her pajamas):  “I know, I know.  I’ll be ready, not to worry.”

Two minutes later…

Mom:  “Don’t let me forget, we have to stop at the Chinese food place to get a menu first!”

Happy Mother’s Day.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

“Blogging the summer” returns. Sigh. He may have hijacked the graduation speech…

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. thebeliever07  |  May 11, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Thanks for the shoutout brother. As long as people such as yourself are continually entertained, I’ll keep up my blogging, cheers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

May 2009
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

