Required Reading

November 6, 2009 at 9:20 pm 2 comments

 

In honor of my birth, and because I don’t want to take advantage of all my Facebook love today (that wouldn’t be right), I’m posting this here, on my long-neglected blog, for all and sundry to read and consider.  It’s by far one of the best, if not THE best, column I’ve read on the legacy of The Sopranos and the mark it has left on television.

The Sopranos Is the Most Influential Television Drama Ever” can be found over at Pop Matters, and the author is Maureen Ryan (just another indication that The Sopranos was not the testosterone-soaked exercise in stereotypes, violence and Gangster tropes that so many non-believers derided it as).

If you gobble that one up and find yourself wanting more, check out “An American Family“–the nine page article from Vanity Fair’s Peter Biskind that considers the show’s birth, heyday, and lasting impact when we were only a few episodes left from The End.

(The joy I feel from reading these articles stems, in no small part, from their admiration of James Gandolfini’s performance over six seasons as Tony Soprano.  Where some other characters faltered or strayed into repetitiveness, Gandolfini never lost his edge or his focus. Why the man isn’t being hailed as one of the best actors of his generation is baffling to me).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

10 things that I CAN do “Secluded location, tonnes of privacy…”

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. glenjm  |  November 6, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Never has nose-breathing ever been as effectively used as by Gandolfini.

    He hasn’t done much since The Sopranos, and I understand completely. My theory, is that he knows it’s going to be a while before people are going to be able to look at him without seeing Tony Soprano.

    The flick, IN THE LOOP co-starring starring James Gandolfini is playing Monday night at Park Lane, and I’m checking the shit out of that flick! Here’s the trailer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d-5v6ZMY4W8

    Reply
    • 2. stevewoodhead  |  November 7, 2009 at 2:51 am

      I hear In The Loop is fantastic! And I know what you mean, by not being able to live down Tony Soprano. After I saw Where The Wild Things Are, I thought that he was the BEST part of that movie; he gave his monster a ton of anxiety and depth of feeling. But the only review I read that mentioned his actual performance mentioned it in a negative way, saying that no matter what he does, he’ll never escape Tony Soprano. Which I disagree with, but I guess it’ll take some time.

      According to IMDB, he’s playing Ernest Hemingway in an as-yet-untitled Hemingway biopic. I think it’ll be huge for him, if it works out.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About Upper Lip

It's mostly a collection of sweet links and copious amounts of talk talk talk. I like it more and more every day. And yes, even the ugly blue/green color scheme is not without a certain charm.

Yours Truly

My Facebook. My Twitter. I'm starting to upload pictures here.

And I'm email enabled at steven.j.woodhead@gmail.com

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

